Suzi Quatro Calls Her Exclusion From Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

  • February 6, 2019
  • Comments Off

Unlimited SSD Hosting

WENN/Clemens Niehaus

While she has nothing but praise for 2019 inductee Joan Jett, the ‘Can the Can’ rocker declares that she is through being polite, especially since she is ‘p**sed off that history is being rewritten.’

AceShowbiz –
Suzi Quatro has slammed Rock and Roll Hall of Fame bosses for failing to recognise her role as a pioneering female rocker.

The “Can the Can” hitmaker was not even on the longlist of nominees for induction this year, despite her role in inspiring a generation of female rock musicians, including 2015 inductee Joan Jett.

Although she’s happy Joan is now a member Suzi is furious at her own exclusion as she believes her role in rock history as the first female bass player to become a major star is being ignored.

“(Joan) deserves to be in – she’s an excellent artist – but it’s disgusting that I’m not,” she told Billboard magazine. “I’m a real stickler for the truth, and I’m p**sed off that history is being rewritten. I was first, right? I was there before anybody else had a twinkle in their eye – that’s a fact of life.”

The 68-year-old, who now lives in the U.K., a country where he had more hits than in her native U.S., feels she has been overlooked in favour of those who followed in her wake.

“I just don’t like being ignored because that’s not correct,” she explained. “It’s a big fault. I hear from a lot of people – they say, ‘What? You’re not in it?!’ No – and my biggest fan is, and that’s not right. You can’t rewrite history just to suit your organisation.”

“So my feelings are hurt. I’ve been very polite about it for many years, and now I don’t want to be polite anymore. It doesn’t make sense. The truth is the truth, history is history, the timeline is the timeline. I need to be in that Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.”

Two of those who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame will be female, with Janet Jackson making the cut, and Stevie Nicks becoming the first woman to enter twice – as she has now been recognised for her solo career as well as for her membership of Fleetwood Mac.

British bands Radiohead, Def Leppard, The Cure, Roxy Music, and The Zombies will also be inducted at a ceremony at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York in March (2019).

Next article

‘RHOBH’: Lisa Vanderpump Thinks of Leaving ‘Every Day’, Real Reason of Cast Feud Is Revealed

Content curated from: Source link

Previous «
Next »